A Brave Year

Many friends of mine, especially the ladies from the #fireworkpeople community, have inspired me to choose a word for 2015.

My word is brave.

I know I write a lot about bravery, and it is a recurring theme in my life, but bravery isn’t a one-time thing for me. I cannot stop being brave. I cannot allow myself to let fear back into my life. I have to keep choosing to be brave. And that’s what I’m going to be this year. Brave. I’m going to pursue bravery and I’m going to be intentionally brave.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/1ac/71923494/files/2015/01/img_6390.jpg

•I’m going to be brave with my relationship with God. I’m going to pursue God more and trust Him and his plan for my life.

•I’m going to be brave with my poetry. I’m going to try and get it published.

•I’m going to be brave with people. I’m going to pursue community and friendship. I will be more open to others and their stories. And I will be more open about my story, too. I’m going to love wholeheartedly.

•I’m going to be brave with my dreams. I am going to see them come true this year.

I am going to be brave with my life, because it’s what I was made for. I wasn’t given a spirit of fear. I was made to be brave. I’m going to be brave because my life is so much more than fear. I wasn’t made to live in black and white. I was made to live fully alive, in full color. I was created to dream. I was created by the creator of dreams. And I wasn’t created to simply dream. I was made to see the desires of my heart come true. I wasn’t made to hold back. And I won’t. I will be brave.

What’s your word for 2015?

7 thoughts on “A Brave Year

  1. Tiffany @ simplyforone says:

    The Lord has written “brave” on my heart continously as I chase dreams. He reaffirmed that word for this year along with my anchor verse, 1 Cor. 16:13 “Watch. Stand fast in faith. Be brave. Be strong.” Being brave with God is such a beautiful thing, isnt it? Knowing that He goes before preparing the way and giving us the opportunities to wear our brave. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. smilesabout says:

    Yo! 🙂 I follow you on Instagram & I just discovered your blog…how how I not found this before?? I love your writing, you truly have a gift from God. I love the idea of having a word for the new year, because I don’t make New Years resolutions, but I still want to make goals. I think my word is “passion”. I want to be passionate in my relationship with Jesus. Passionate in the talents He has given me. Passionate in serving Him and others. Passionate in following His will. You’re an amazing woman of God and you’re so blessed ❤ If you ever want to check it out, my blog is truthignited.wordpress.com & I would LOVE some feedback on my writing, considering I'm new at this "blogging" thing haha 🙂 have an awesome day!

    Like

    • gabycompres says:

      Karla!!! I know you 🙂 I’m so glad you found my blog, because I really love yours! I spent the afternoon reading through it and I love what you’ve written so far 🙂 Glad we’re blogging buddies 🙂 And I love your word- it’s a big one and an important one. May you never lose that fire in your heart. Much love.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

