Enough.

IMG_5574.JPG
[poem originally shared at gabywrites]

Something I wrestle with every day is feeling loved. Feeling accepted. Feeling like I am enough. I’m not sure why this is my fight. I don’t know why I am constantly bombarded with thoughts about my life not being enough, about my art and poetry being insignificant. I don’t know why I constantly forget that I am loved and cherished and sought after.
There are rare days when I do remember that truth. There are days when I wake up and I feel like the sun shines just for me, that the birds are singing just for me. There are days when I am overwhelmed by love, when God tells me that He loves me through his words, through other people, through little everyday things. And that’s good.

But when those things are not enough, when it feels like God needs to write his love for me in the sky, or braid it in my hair, or pour it in my morning coffee, I must remember the cross. I must remember that Jesus died for me. I must remember that He did not die so that I would wake up every day feeling worthless. He died to give me abundant life. He died because He loved me, because He believed I was worth it. I don’t know what he saw in me. I don’t know what he sees in me. But he sees something. He thinks I’m worth saving. He thinks I’m worth loving. He says I am precious and honored in his sight. He says He loves me. He says he made me, fearfully and wonderfully.

And when I feel like I’m not enough, I must listen to His voice. The voice that drowns out the voices of fear and guilt and shame. The voice that drowns out the lies. The voice of truth. The voice that takes delight in me and sings over me. The voice that calmed the seas. The voice that whispers, “You are enough.”

3 thoughts on “Enough.

  1. waywood says:

    There are many of us who battle with the same feelings. Many days, especially recently, I could have written this blog entry.

    What I am slowly learning is that it doesn’t matter how I feel about myself, the TRUTH is that God is my dad & He thinks the world of me. My value to Him cannot be calculated. I am enough. My value lies in what He has done for me not what I can do for Him.

    This is a hard lesson for some us to learn, often because of what we have been told. The bible tells me that God’s work in Jesus is complete. My goal is to start feeding myself with that truth rather than my own lies. I make so many mistakes, let people down & fail to show love as I should, most of which stems from the fact that I find it hard to love myself or appreciate just how much God loves me.

    It can be a hard path at times but sometimes we need to ask God to help us let go & help us to see ourselves as He sees us.

    The reality is that we are fearfully & wonderfully made & God loves us & is VERY pleased with us as we are. Of course we can change but that’s called growth & the day it stops is the day we meet Him face-to-face.

    God loves you. You are precious to Him & He also thinks the world of what you do, as do we who read your blogs. They are a window to the real you & I, for one, like what I see.

    If ever you need reminding just drop me a line; I will never tire of telling you.

    Take care & God bless.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

