God Wants You

i wish i could get inside Your head
and figure out what You were thinking
when
You created the universe.
i wish i could get inside Your head
when
You made me.
what was going through Your head
when
You formed my tiny feet and hands
my face
my heart
my mind.
what was going through Your head
when
i said yes to You.
i wish i could get inside Your head
and figure out what You were thinking
when
Your son died for me.
i probably wouldn’t
understand what was going through Your head
because
Your mind is
infinite and complex and everywhere
so i will settle
with thinking that You were thinking
that You loved
me.

We are human. We make mistakes. We break our promises. We sin. And still we are loved by God. What is God thinking? That is something I struggle to understand. I have nothing to offer to God. He has everything. He is everything. He doesn’t need me. God is perfectly fine without me. And yet he brought me to this world. He made me, fearfully and wonderfully. His son died because of me. He takes delight in me. He constantly pursues me. God loves me. God doesn’t need us, and yet he wants us. I think that’s pretty cool.

3 thoughts on “God Wants You

Leave a Reply

